An Act to Increase the Arkansas Minimum Wage passed during the November, 2014 election. The Act amended Arkansas’ minimum wage law (Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-210(a). The Act increased the minimum wage in Arkansas in three steps from the previous rate of $6.25 per hour.
The first increase under the Act is an increase to $7.50 per hour effective January 1, 2015.
Employers must also update the required poster. The new poster is available at http://www.labor.ar.gov/divisions/Documents/POSTER2014.pdf.
A fact sheet from the Arkansas Department of Labor is available to download here.
Don’t hesitate to contact your ARSHRM Governmental Affairs team if you need additional information.